SettleTopRegistry
← Back to the registry
Agent passport

specgit

Edit GitHub docs without learning Git. specgit handles the Git for you.

Category
AI Apps and Agents
Registry category
Operations & ProductivityWorkflow & Productivity
Vendor
FnFirst
Location
Not disclosed
Reviews
Not rated (0 reviews on the listing)
Listed on
Microsoft Marketplace
Pricing
Not stated
Overall Provenance
2.1/10Low
High 7–10Moderate 3–6.9Low 0–2.9

Each fact carries one Provenance score: the average of its Disclosure and Evidence scores, the same rule the page uses for the overall score. Click any score to see the math behind it.

Vendor Provenance

Who actually operates this agent.

2.1 / 10
Data element
Answer
Provenance
Source
Legal entity
FnFirst
Publisher name on the listing; the matched company record gives no legal name
High
HQ address
Not disclosed
No headquarters on the listing or an outside record
Low
No source on record
Ownership
Not disclosed
No ownership on record
Low
No source on record
Industry
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
Employee count
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
Founded
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
Revenue
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
About
Edit GitHub docs without learning Git. specgit handles the Git for you.
Publisher description
High

Build Provenance

What the agent is built on.

2.8 / 10
Data element
Answer
Provenance
Source
Foundation model
Not disclosed on this listing
Low
No source on record
Training data (model)
Not disclosed on this listing
No source discloses model training data
Low
No source on record
Agent framework / tools
Not disclosed on this listing
Low
No source on record
Hosting model
SaaS, hosted by the vendor
From the listing
High
Version history
1003
Registry saw 4 distinct listing states across 9 captures
High

Reach Provenance

How the agent is distributed and adopted.

4.4 / 10
Data element
Answer
Provenance
Source
Distribution channel(s)
Microsoft Marketplace
Via SaaS
High
Review volume & rating
Not available
No ratings on the listing
Low
No source on record
Comments (pros)
Not available
No review text on record, so no pros could be drawn from user comments
—
No source on record
Comments (cons)
Not available
No review text on record, so no cons could be drawn from user comments
—
No source on record
Listing tenure
Not disclosed
No listed since date; last updated 2026-08-17
—
No source on record
Multi-channel presence
Single-channel
Listed on Microsoft Marketplace only in the registry
High
Public community signal
Not disclosed
No public GitHub, Discord or community metrics found
Low
No source on record
# installs
Not reported
Popularity index 0.08 on the marketplace; not an install count
—
No source on record
Listing type
Standard marketplace listing
From the listing
High

Data Provenance

What the vendor discloses about data handling.

1.4 / 10
Data element
Answer
Provenance
Source
Operational data sources
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
Data residency
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
Retention & deletion
Not disclosed
Low
No source on record
Published documentation
Legal links on the listing: Privacy Policy
Links on the listing; documents not fetched by the registry
High
Data access requirements
Not explicitly disclosed
No OAuth scope or permission list found on the listing
Low
No source on record

Compliance Provenance

What standards the vendor meets, and who verified them.

0.0 / 10
Data element
Answer
Provenance
Source
Security
SOC 2
None on record
Low
No source on record
ISO/IEC 27001
None on record
Low
No source on record
ISO/IEC 27002
None on record
—
No source on record
ISO/IEC 27017
None on record
—
No source on record
SOC 3
None on record
—
No source on record
CSA STAR
None on record
—
No source on record
Privacy
GDPR
None on record
Low
No source on record
COPPA
None on record
—
No source on record
FERPA
None on record
—
No source on record
ISO/IEC 27018
None on record
—
No source on record
Health
HIPAA
None on record
Low
No source on record
HITRUST CSF
None on record
—
No source on record
Financial
SOC 1
None on record
—
No source on record
PCI DSS
None on record
—
No source on record
SOX
None on record
—
No source on record
Government
FedRAMP
Not found on the FedRAMP Marketplace
Checked by the vendor's web domain on 2026-08-27
Low
CMMC
None on record
Low
No source on record
NIST SP 800-171
None on record
—
No source on record
AI
NIST AI RMF
None on record
Low
No source on record
Platform
3rd party certification
None on record
Low
No source on record

What the publisher says

specgit is a document editor that runs in the browser and saves to a GitHub repository. You write and format the way you would in any modern editor, and specgit does the Git underneath: every save becomes a commit on a review branch under your own GitHub name, every comment becomes a pull request review thread, and publishing merges the pull request. Engineers review the document the same way they review code, in the same queue.

You don't need to have used GitHub before, and the repository can be empty when you start. Create a new document from a template (product spec, backlog tracker, decision record, meeting notes, agent instructions), upload Markdown or HTML files as they are, or import Word, PowerPoint, Excel, and PDF files, which specgit automatically converts to Markdown using Microsoft's open-source MarkItDown.

What's in the editor

Show the rest of the publisher’s description (13 more lines)
  • Headings, tables, images, code blocks, callouts, math, and Mermaid diagrams. Obsidian-flavored Markdown works, and any unrecognized formatting syntax is retained exactly as it was.
  • Live co-editing with visible cursors, and inline comments that engineers can answer from GitHub without opening specgit.
  • Branch protection and required reviews keep working. specgit shows what a change still needs, and reviewers approve inside the editor under their own GitHub identity.
  • Optional AI: Agent chat edits with you, Review posts inline comments on a draft, and Triage works through open comments. It runs only when you ask, and a person approves every change it proposes.Why GitHub?

specgit could have stored your documents on its own servers like other solutions do, but we chose not to. GitHub is better for three reasons. The documents sit next to the code, so engineers and AI coding agents read them without being sent a link. Every edit is recorded with its author and full history, which is what makes review and auditing possible. And GitHub can publish: if the repository has a pipeline, merging a document pushes it live to a GitHub Pages site, a help center, a wiki, or a page inside your product. specgit doesn't render or host any of that; your pipeline does.

Why not a wiki or a shared drive?

If your team uses GitHub, your documents belong there too. Not just specs: handbooks, meeting notes, runbooks, decision records. A wiki, a workspace app, or a shared drive is a second system with its own accounts, permissions, and bill, and everything kept in it sits away from the code, invisible to the people and AI agents in the repository. specgit does the same job with one identity, one attributed history, and one review process, and when the repository publishes through GitHub Pages, the handbook ships the same way the spec does. If you pay for a separate document editor or wiki to get this, you can stop.

We respect your content

GitHub remains the source of truth for your content. specgit reads a file when you open it, writes your changes back as commits, and doesn't keep a copy of your documents or comments. The exceptions are narrow and disclosed: live-collaboration state is deleted after up to 7 inactive days, AI requests run under xAI Zero Data Retention for API inputs and outputs and never train models, and feedback is kept only if you choose to send it. Product analytics contain no document content. The privacy policy has the details.

Sign-in is the specgit GitHub App, installed once by an admin on the repositories you choose. Permissions are per-repository, tokens are short-lived, and there is no separate password. specgit runs on Microsoft Azure. Microsoft Entra ID is used once, at purchase, to activate the subscription. Everyone who edits needs a GitHub account, and readers need access to the repository. Try the editor on a sample document at specgit.com/try, no account needed.

Pricing

A seat is an editor; viewing and commenting are free for unlimited people. Microsoft bills the seats. Pro is $8 per seat per month: unlimited repositories and publishing, a one-time $10 AI credit in your first month, and 3 AI Review plus 3 AI Triage runs per person each month. Pro Plus is $16 per seat per month and includes $10 of AI usage per seat each month. Extra AI is not billed through Microsoft. If a month's allowance runs out, AI pauses until the next one, and Pro Plus is the plan with the bigger allowance. Annual billing saves 20%.

Pricing · Security · Support

Preview

2 images

Linked repositories

Unknown

Unknown means this listing does not publish a repository. It is not a statement that the code is closed.

Publisher resources

Sources

Reading the score

Disclosure · how many sources corroborate it

NoneNo source has it. Shown red, because Unknown means Unknown.
1 sourceA single place has it. A listing and its certification page and policy docs on one marketplace count as one source.
2+ contestedTwo or more sources cover it but they do not agree. The disagreement is shown, never dropped.
2+ agreeingTwo or more genuinely separate sources agree: another marketplace, or an outside record.
Steps below are possible but not automated yet, so today they sit open.
SettleTop confirmedSettleTop confirms it directly.

Evidence · what kind of evidence backs it

NoneNo source discloses it.
PublicPublicly available info, such as reviews, listing age, or vendor firmographics like legal entity and headquarters.
Vendor statedThe vendor's own claim on its marketplace listing, website, or policy documents.
Self-attestedThe vendor's self-attested certification or operator program, a marketplace program rather than an independent audit.
Steps below are possible but not automated yet, so today they sit open.
Vendor providedThe vendor hands SettleTop the underlying material, such as an SBOM or a data policy.
Vendor attestedThe vendor signs an attestation to SettleTop.
SettleTop verifiedSettleTop verifies it directly.

The SettleTop steps above are possible but not automated yet, so today they sit open and a perfect 10 is out of reach. Open information like firmographics and reach has fewer steps to climb, so it sits a little higher for the same visible evidence.

Information shown here reflects the best available information at the time of assessment and may be incomplete, outdated, or subject to change. It should be independently verified before being relied upon for any decision. SettleTop is not liable for any errors, omissions, or decisions made in reliance on this information.

Have information about this agent?

Send it to us for consideration

Spot something missing, wrong, or out of date? Share what you know. Every note reaches our team. It does not change the passport by itself: we review it first.

Name

Suggest specific values (optional)
Vendor Provenance

Build Provenance

Reach Provenance

Data Provenance

Compliance Provenance

A note to our team, not a change to the page. Prefer email? Write to support@settletop.com.